Just before I slept late last night, I saw a lovely sketch by my friend @fleecircus on Instagram.

But what captioned my heart immediately after her beautiful drawing was her accompanying caption:

Sketch by @fleecircus

Sketch by @fleecircus

I asked her where this quote came from, and @fleecircus pointed me to this poem below.

I think nothing happens by chance, and anything can inspire us. This poem by Oriah Mountain Dreamer – storyteller and lover of words – has inspired me to share.

I don’t think I can put it in better words. And so I shall clear my little playground for her words to dance around freely, and hopefully into your heart.

The Dance 

I have sent you my invi­ta­tion, the note inscribed on the palm of my hand by the fire of liv­ing. Don’t jump up and shout, “Yes, this is what I want! Let’s do it!” Just stand up qui­etly and dance with me.

Show me how you fol­low your deep­est desires, spi­ral­ing down into the ache within the ache. And I will show you how I reach inward and open out­ward to feel the kiss of the Mys­tery, sweet lips on my own, everyday.

Don’t tell me you want to hold the whole world in your heart. Show me how you turn away from mak­ing another wrong with­out aban­don­ing your­self when you are hurt and afraid of being unloved.

Tell me a story of who you are, And see who I am in the sto­ries I am liv­ing. And together we will remem­ber that each of us always has a choice.

Don’t tell me how won­der­ful things will be … some day. Show me you can risk being com­pletely at peace, truly OK with the way things are right now in this moment, and again in the next and the next and the next…

I have heard enough war­rior sto­ries of heroic dar­ing. Tell me how you crum­ble when you hit the wall, the place you can­not go beyond by the strength of your own will. What car­ries you to the other side of that wall, to the frag­ile beauty of your own humanness?

And after we have shown each other how we have set and kept the clear, healthy bound­aries that help us live side by side with each other, let us risk remem­ber­ing that we never stop silently lov­ing those we once loved out loud.

Take me to the places on the earth that teach you how to dance, the places where you can risk let­ting the world break your heart. And I will take you to the places where the earth beneath my feet and the stars over­head make my heart whole again and again.

Show me how you take care of busi­ness with­out let­ting busi­ness deter­mine who you are. When the chil­dren are fed but still the voices within and around us shout that soul’s desires have too high a price, let us remind each other that it is never about the money.

Show me how you offer to your peo­ple and the world the sto­ries and the songs you want our children’s chil­dren to remem­ber, and I will show you how I strug­gle not to change the world, but to love it.

Sit beside me in long moments of shared soli­tude, know­ing both our absolute alone­ness and our unde­ni­able belong­ing. Dance with me in the silence and in the sound of small daily words, hold­ing nei­ther against me at the end of the day.

And when the sound of all the dec­la­ra­tions of our sin­cer­est inten­tions has died away on the wind, dance with me in the infi­nite pause before the next great inhale of the breath that is breath­ing us all into being, not fill­ing the empti­ness from the out­side or from within.

Don’t say, “Yes!” Just take my hand and dance with me. 

~ Oriah Moun­tain Dreamer

“And after we have shown each other how we have set and kept the clear, healthy bound­aries that help us live side by side with each other, let us risk remem­ber­ing that we never stop silently lov­ing those we once loved out loud.”

