photo-2

I collect Starbucks mugs and tumblers from around the world and display them on a shelf in my room.

I have never mentioned this to anyone because I don’t consider myself an “official” collector of mugs. I don’t go searching for them when I travel, but when I see one I like, I bring it home – often to add to my unofficial collection.

I bought this special Starbucks mug in 2008. It’s been sitting on my shelf for five years.

photo-2

Today, I picked out this mug and decided – for the first time – to use it.

To be honest, I am terrified that the klutzy me will break it. Then I’ll never be able to fix it or get a new one again.

But I thought maybe it’s better to have a brief moment of enjoying it everyday – filled with coffee – than to admire it from afar for 100 years.

Β And so, I’m filling it with coffee right now. There’s a lesson to be learnt here, I’m sure.

