“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” ~ Paulo Coelho 

I made a difficult decision a recently. After I made it, I couldn’t sleep. I was terrified for my future. And I would be lying if I said I am unafraid now.

But sometimes, in pursuing what we know we’re created to do, we hit a point where we need to make tough decisions in order to move forward. For me, it was letting go of my financial safety net.

Even when I left my full-time job as a TV producer to return to my first love – writing – I was still holding on tightly to my rice bowl as a freelance producer. I don’t hate my job. In fact, I get a certain adrenaline rush in being part of a team that makes ‘live’ programmes happen on a news channel.

My Mothership, whose tracker beam is strong.

My Mothership has a strong tractor beam!

But deep inside, I knew this held me back. I’ve had to say “no” to many travel assignments because I could not leave town once I had committed to X number of episodes, and my travel assignments usually come last minute. The result was that I was producing for TV more than I was travel writing, and there came a point where I questioned myself.

Is this why I left my full-time job? What happened to my intention to write full-time? To travel on a whim? Was I making time to build my business and my branding? To meet editors and find work? It was sobering to realise I had failed in every way because of my fears.

And so, I made a tough decision to cut my apron strings.

My calling: A writer who travels.

My calling: A writer who travels.

The day after I made that decision, I immediately landed a few travel assignments. They fell on my lap from nowhere and the timing was perfect. If I had made that decision just a day later, I would’ve had to say no to these opportunities.

I believe nothing happens by chance. When I let go, it cleared a space in my life for good things to happen. I just completed a travel assignment and will be leaving for another assignment next week, with two more lined up this month.

P1090919

Recent travel assignment to Thailand, March 2014.

But having said that, I don’t see very far into my future. Many things are still uncertain. But I figure as long as I am writing – and making a living from writing – I’m on the right track.

Let’s take this one day at a time. Let’s DARE.

“Let us plunge together down the dangerous path of surrender. It may be dangerous, but it is the only path worth following.” ~ Paulo Coelho

 

 

